Very much like an alcoholic…

In the same sense that an alcoholic is an alcoholic even when he is not actively drinking, I am always a sinner even when I am not actively sinning.
I must accept that, while I may aspire to be a saint, I can only achieve on this earth becoming a saintly sinner. It is nothing to despair about. Rejoicing is the proper response!
Yet it is also the reason to embrace self-mortification. Seen this way, it will never become a source of spiritual pride. It will be merely a constant reminder: I am always a sinner even when I am not actively sinning.

This entry was posted in Beatitudes, Hope, Hunger & Thirst for Righteousness, Mourning, Poor in Spirit, The Meek, Theological Virtues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

